New York Times Online Global Photo Project – Sunday May 2nd 2010

The New York Times Photo Blog is initiating an online project that takes place on Sunday May 2nd. The basic idea is to have as many people around the world as possible photographing at the same time. Here’s all the relevant information:

On behalf of the New York Times photography blog Lens http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com, I would like to invite you to join us in a project called A Moment in Time. Thousands of photographers of all experience levels will be capturing the same moment on Sunday May 2nd at 15:00 G.M.T., (U.T.C.). That’s 8 A.M. Los Angeles, 11 A.M. in New York and Santo Domingo, 4 P.M. in Algiers and London, 7 P.M in Moscow and 11 P.M. in Beijing.

While everyone is invited we are particularly encouraging photography students. We hope this is a first step in trying to connect photographers around the world.

We are asking participants to think about where they will want to be and what they will focus on. Consider how to represent yourself, and your community, with one image.

To start the thinking process and to act as guides, we are suggesting the following categories for images:

· Community
· Nature/ Environment
· Family
· Work
· Play
· Arts
· Religion
· Social Issues
. Relationship

After you take your photos, send your best image as soon as possible to http://submit.nytimes.com/moment. The link will go live that morning to a simple Web form. You will be asked to categorize your photos by location and subject and to include a caption that helps tell the story. Photos will very quickly appear on the Lens Blog, and on The New York Times Web site. Your photo will appear in our A Moment in Time Web display, and may also be spotlighted in a Lens Blog post. Please feel free to contact me with any comments or suggestions, and thank you in advance. The project will be greatly enriched with your help.

Check the Lens Blog for more information about a Moment in Time http://lens.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/04/08/about-3. You can also follow us on facebook ( Lens) or twitter (nytimesphoto) for updates on A Moment in Time. There is also a Moment in Time Facebook event invite http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=112035958816765

Share/Save
This entry was posted in Contemporary Art, Extracurricular Activities, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New York Times Online Global Photo Project – Sunday May 2nd 2010

  1. Thanks for following the blog.

    This is from the NYT link:
    We don’t expect everyone to hit 15:00 exactly, but we do ask that you try to stay within a few minutes of that targeted time.
    best,
    jp

  2. Rusty Shacleford says:

    hi,

    i (heart) the idea

    I just have a question, the photo has to be exactly at 8am pst or close to that hour only?

    i love your blog thank you for sharing and thaks for the invite

Comments are closed.